Lewisville Council: Gilmore re-elected, Troyer and Wright enter runoff

TJ Gilmore had a smile on his face Saturday night after he saw early voting totals come in. (Photo by Steve Southwell)

Saturday night’s election resulted in filling one Lewisville City Council seat, but a runoff is required to determine the winner of the Place 1 seat that has been vacant since the death of Deputy Mayor Pro Tem Leroy Vaughn in February.

TJ Gilmore was re-elected to his Place 3 seat Saturday evening, earning 59.16 percent of the vote.  Gilmore bested his challenger Elena Claros by 481 votes. But first timer Claros didn’t trail far behind with 40.84 percent of the vote. She vowed to stay active.

Gilmore celebrated with a small group of friends at his home after votes came in.

“It feels pretty good,” Gilmore said.  “I’ve got some definitive things I want to get done in these three years, then we’ll see.”

Bob Troyer watched returns and celebrated with friends at the Witherspoon Distillery 
(Photo by Leopold Knopp)

In the Place 1 race with five candidates running, no candidate received a majority of the votes, so the top two will go to a runoff election to determine the winner.  Bob Troyer received 41 percent of votes and Carolyn Wright followed with 32.44 percent.

This year’s municipal election had a turnout of more than 2,625 Lewisville voters.  The 2016 local election only had a little more than 1,000 voters, but it had no contested council seats in play.  The 2015 election for Lewisville had two council seats and the mayor’s race.  That election saw about 1,850 in turnout.

Lewisville typically has low turnout compared to some of its surrounding cities.  Turnout was likely increased due to a concurrent Lewisville ISD election with a controversial bond proposition.

Map of Place 1 results shows Troyer-won precincts in gold, and Wright-won precincts in blue. Maps via Denton County GIS and Denton County Elections.
Map of Place 3 results shows Gilmore-won precincts in green, and Claros-won precincts in Red. Preincts in gold are ties.

About 70 percent of the votes were cast through early voting this year.  Election day saw challengers Claros and Wright drawing more votes than their opponents, but not enough to change the outcome since there were fewer votes on election day.

Troyer and Wright won’t have long to get their campaigns back in gear.

The runoff election will be held June 10, with early voting running from May 30 through June 6. Early voting will be held at the Lewisville Municipal Annex and other Denton County locations for Denton County voters.  Dallas County voters will vote at Coppell Town Center or any other designated early voting location.

The candidates will have their positions drawn for the ballot on May 17.  May 18 is the last day to drop out.  If a candidate drops out, then the other one is considered elected to the seat.

All registered voters in the city are eligible to vote in the runoff regardless of whether they voted in the May 6 race.  Runoff elections typically have low turnout.

Stay tuned to The Lewisville Texan Journal for more election information.

Editor’s noteThis story has been edited to correct the number of municipal voters in 2016.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here